Business Showcase South West – With Dragon’s Den Inspirational Investment Winner at only 18, Jordan Daykin !


Dragon's Den Winner!!
Me, Sandra Bellamy, with Jordan Daykin at BSSW, Dragon’s Den Investment Winner at 18 years old, in 2014!!

I recently went to the Business Showcase South West in Bristol #BSSW. There were lots of seminars throughout the day, including one that featured Jordan Daykin, who won investment from Deborah Meaden in the hit Entrepreneur TV Show Dragon’s Den! He was only 18 when he won that investment in 2014 – making him only 21 years now and his business GripIt – is now worth over £14,000,000. It was awesome to hear his inspirational story!!

I did a live 5 minute pitch to 2 people, to be a TedX Speaker about Asexuality at the next TedX Bristol event in November this year. I already applied with a 1 minute video pitch, 100 word pitch and a bio! And my application has not yet made it or been declined. If you don’t know what TedX is, it is a local Ted talk – or rather talk(s) on stage, on a particular subject that a person has experience or knowledge about – which often makes them seen as an expert. The last Bristol TedX in 2015, had all 1800 seats sold out and about 2000 attended. It is the biggest TedX talk in the UK and possibly in Europe. All speakers are voluntary and the money goes back into a bigger and better show for next time. If I got it, it would be truly life changing for both me and asexuals around the globe – especially since some Ted talks are viewed on YouTube in their thousands and millions. Keep your fingers, toes, and everything crossed, that I make the final cut!! Pitching to be a speaker continues until July – so I have to wait and see! I know at least I tried and will have no regrets as I have done all I can to get through, and although I think I will be good at speaking on stage, in front of that many people is something I will need to be brave to do – but I am a warrior, so it will all be good!! And let’s face it, I was born to be on stage really!! Just have to push myself to do it and go for it!!

If you want to try something in life and have been thinking about it for a while – I say, go for it!! Life is too short!! Keep writing and stay quirky – always xx

Oh and if you have not got a copy of my Asexual Perspectives book yet, you should!! It is great to know about all sexualities because you never know who you will meet that may be the love of your life and if they are Asexual, it is really important to understand them!!

BSSW Dragon’s Den Winner

Jordan Daykin With Alison Edgar – The Entrepreneur’s Fairy Godmother!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Business Showcase South West – With Dragon’s Den Inspirational Investment Winner at only 18, Jordan Daykin !

Leave a Reply

