15 Icky Things About Being Writer!


Writer Sandra Bellamy
Writer Sandra Bellamy – Author Of Break Through The Barriers Of Redundancy

Everyone mentions the good bits about being a writer, some mention the not so good, but what about the icky stuff, the stuff we don’t talk about, because it’s not great to admit!

If you are passionate about writing and live and breathe it as I do, you may know what I am talking about.

So here are my 15 icky things about being a writer:

1) No time to shower because you are ‘in the flow’ of working to a tight deadline; can be a bit pongy, epecially in hot weather.

2) With no time to wash your hair, it can end up looking like you have poured cooking oil over it!

3) You avoid buying anything that requires a postal signature, because you don’t want the parcel courier to see you in an unwashed state.

4) If you have to sign for a parcel, you try to hide almost completely behind the door, grab the signature device from around the door to sign it quickly, and declare you work nights.

5) You are so busy, you forget to take the rubbish out.

6) You keep putting off the washing up because quite frankly your book is more important.

7) You go to put your favourite top on and realise it’s in the laundry bin. Was it really a week since you last wore it?

8) Your writing desk looks more like a kid’s playground.

9) Your writing desk has tiny particles of food matter stuck to it, because you have been snacking in-between typing up your masterpiece.

10) A world disaster has struck and you haven’t heard anything about it until someone mentions how awful it was. You are thinking – What? When?

11) You have been writing so much that now you have to take painkillers because some body parts hurt.

12) You literally forget to eat.

13) You realise one day, that you have no nutritional food ingredients left, and you are ‘forced’ to go shopping.

14) Your friends have to book in time to talk to you or to see you.

15) It seems like everyone is outside enjoying the sun, while you are hibernating in your cave, to get that book finished.

Add to that the printer packing up – or in my current case – it no longer recognises itself – and hey presto – It’s a Writer’s life for me!

Write soon

Sandra

12 thoughts on “15 Icky Things About Being Writer!

    1. Thanks Jackie. Glad you know what I am talking about. It’s 1.30am here and my printer no longer recognises itself, so I have had to delete it from my settings and now I have to go and install new drivers before it will work again!

      Like

  1. That’s very interesting Sandra – I agree with your blog if it was posted in a network of TV or Radio for example, I am leaning lately the writers on WP are doing for fun…

    I know you are expert and professional in your field…Bravo!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Mihrank, nice to see you here. Thank you for the lovely compliment. When you say you agree with my blog if it were posted in a network of TV and Radio, what exactly do you mean, because a blog is a blog, can you expand on that? Do you mean that my content is serious enough for TV or radio, even though it has – one could argue – a humorous title?

      Like

      1. Hi Mihrank, oh thank you very much, that is a wonderful compliment. As you know, I was a volunteer Hospital Radio Presenter for 17 years, I have also been a guest on Radio Devon, and I have also appeared on TV twice. I would love to appear on TV and Radio stations across the country and globe. I have known since 15 years that I was born to be in ‘ the media’, so it’s my destiny.

        Like

Leave a Reply

