How Much Of Your Brain Capacity Do You Use?


Hi everyone

image

I went to the cinema with my friend last night and saw Lucy. The film explores the theory that we only use 10% of our brain capacity,  and what would happen if we accessed the rest, right up to the full 100%.

I love a film that makes me think, as Ironically I believe it makes me access more of my brain to do so.

Based on the theories in the film, I believe I use more than 10% of my brain, and I am blessed with being quirky because of it.

From what I recall, when Lucy can accesses 28% of her brain capacity, she remembers events in her childhood, that previously she couldn’t recollect.

This got me thinking about my earliest childhood memories. Including one where I was sat on my potty in the kitchen and my mum looked at me, and I felt self conscious. To be so aware of myself at a young age, to me, is very quirky.

Especially in order to write, to be a lateral thinker and come up with creative solutions, I have to allow my creative mind, to take over my normal brain. I have to allow it, its freedom unrestrained. When I do this, magic happens, my quirkiness blossoms and it’s like a special place that my mind it taken to; that to my knowledge, is nothing like one would normally experience. I am truly blessed. To my own mind, this is creative genius. To others it may be crazy, but if quirky is crazy, I love it.

What’s your own take on the situation?

How much of your brain capacity do you feel you use?

What are your earliest childhood memories?

I am very interested to hear your thoughts and looking forward to reading your answers.

Write soon
Sandra

22 thoughts on “How Much Of Your Brain Capacity Do You Use?

  1. When I was two, my tonsils were removed. I remember sitting in the car, looking up through the window to see tree branches. I was too small to look out the window.
    My mom carried me into the hospital, and then into a room where she placed me on a hospital bed. The room was bright and sterile, and unlike anything I had seen before.
    A doctor was talking to my mom, and then he placed a mask over my face and started counting. The mask gave off a horrible smell, so I pushed the mask off my face and started crying.
    My mom told me to stop acting like a baby. I then remember her picking me up off the bed and carrying me down a hall. I was looking over her shoulder and I saw a child playing in a room at the end of the hall. I wished I could stay and play.
    I asked my mom how old I was when I had my tonsils out, and she told me I was two. I was certain she was wrong about my age, but after she died I found confirmation in her papers.
    I didn’t think it was possible to have memories from such a young age.
    I have an earlier memory but I don’t know if it is real or not. Our brains are truly remarkable.
    Like you, I often wonder if people with supernatural abilities are accessing more of their brain than the rest of us.
    Great post! it has me wondering…

    Like

    1. Hi Jane, thank you for sharing such a detailed memory. It made me squeamish just reading about it. That experience must have been very traumatic for you, especially as a child. That may be why you can remember it more than some other memories, because of the impact it had on your feelings and soul. Being a bit controversial, besides people with supernatural abilities, I think some people who have had, or currently have, some mental ill health, can access more of their brain. They have the ability to see the world through different eyes, and that is why they make great writers. They can ‘feel’ with their brain. I am sure there is another post to be written on my philosophy about that.

      Like

      1. Your description of how people with mental health issues feel with their brain was brilliant! I sometimes feel like I don’t belong here because I’m too sensitive and the world is too harsh. It’s comforting to know I’m not alone.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I completely understand. You are definitely not alone. I am so glad you connected with me. Embrace your sensitivity, I know I do. I had depression and anxiety and I still get anxious sometimes, but don’t want to get rid of all of my anxiety as it makes me great at feeling, writing and being.

        Like

    1. Hi Zachary, as a quirky writer, in general, I don’t like reading – Apart from what I like to write. Which is picture books for 3-5 years and how to/self-help/business books.

      I love fictional movies, and I love to go to the cinema regularly. Thankfully, I can get discounted cinema tickets from where I work in my day job.

      Lucy is good from a psychological point of view, and the effects are stunning. If you love a lot of blood and shooting, then it’s great. There was too much blood for my liking, but I still think a lot of people would like to see it.

      Like

      1. Good review, thanks, I plan to check it out. Yeah with so much writing, networking, etc. etc. reading can be a bit much. Hopefully for you they make a movie of Flowers for Algernon. It’s a great premise. A man with very low intelligence tries an experimental therapy to significantly raise his IQ and his thoughts / observations / insights as he goes thru this process are very interesting. Totally recommended. Ok well congrats again, hope all is well, feel free to stop by and say hi! Take care 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hi Zachary, that would be awesome if they make it into a film in the future. Thanks for your congratulations. I really appreciate them. Sorry I haven’t visited your blog recently. I have no excuse apart from being so busy. I have been working on my new design http://www.beatredundancyblues.com site tonight. It’s not live yet, and I have to finish it and launch it before I can finish the final formatting of my Break through the barriers of redundancy book. The site is advertised on the front cover, but the current site I can no longer update, because my host no longer services the site builder I used to build it on.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks Zachary for your encouragement and powerful words. Not to tempt fate, but the universe can throw what it likes at me; I am up for new challenges. I have an unstoppable attitude. Where there is a will, there will always be a way. The quirky way, of course.

        Like

  2. I’ve heard only terrible things about this movie. The premise, scientifically, is pure hokum anyhow – the ‘you only use 10 percent of your brain’ idea came out of the early twentieth century and the number appears to have been plucked out of thin air. It’s been well discredited by the science community. Reality is that we all use all of our brain, all the time, because the brain does things we’re not conscious of such as spatial awareness (propioperception), which lets you do things like walk (another activity that is heavy on brain power, without anybody consciously knowing it). There’s also the ‘flashes of inspiration’ issue, which is a product of the brain working behind the conscious scene and coming up with an answer that then becomes evident, apparently all in a flash. Biology is efficient; the brain is energy-hungry and if we didn’t use all of what we have, one way or another, it wouldn’t be the size it is. There is a distinction between that and intelligence, which is a practised skill as much as anything else – and like everything, it gets better if we work at it.

    Like

    1. Hi Matthew, thanks for this fascinating insight.
      Although I have had a few people say directly to me, that we have to access another part of our brain to be able to use the third eye, to see dead people, ghosts and spirits. We can control what we see through the third eye using the power of our minds. As I don’t want to see such things, I try to never let it happen. I did experience some problem when I was young, seeing some things that actually happened but in a slightly different way. So I do not disbelieve these people, but wondered if it’s correct that we access a different part of our brain to do this? I have also met one person who said they can move objects with their mind and their family didn’t seem to disagree. Which is what Lucy does in the film. That’s why I am not sure that we do actively use all of our brain, maybe not at once anyway. I do know it performs a lot of conscious and subconscious things and maybe 10% in not correct, but my Grandma was medically diagnosed with an overactive brain as a small child, so that surely means there is a measurement for normal brain activity and how much of it is normal to use? I too, have an overactive brain.

      I guess the flashes of inspiration I can relate to. That is similar to my creative brain, being allowed to take over my normal brain. In other words my subconscious/creative part of my brain is allowed its own voice. This has increased considerably for me. Over the last year I have been able to creatively think and come up with amazing creative solutions so much quicker. Situations reveal themselves to me naturally after the creative part of my brain has been allowed to shine through. I know that I did not use this part of my brain as much or as deeply before. That’s why I would say that I didn’t consciously use 100% of my brain, and I believe the best is yet to come. My creative brain is growing and becoming sharper all of the time. How would you explain different IQs, if we all use 100% of our brain?

      Like

    1. Hi Marilyn. Wow! That is a memory – To drink from a coke bottle with a nipple on it and to remember why you did that, means you understood reasoning from a young age. How much of your brain would you say you use?

      Like

  3. According to my IQ and all of my teachers, I use very little of my brain. LOL! But I think with everybody, there is so much more brain matter that doesn’t get used in thought or action. But I alo believe that the brain functions in other ways–some we are aware of, and some we are not. It is the most sophisticated computer to ever exist.

    As far as my earliest childhood memory: I remember running down the hallway with the stroller handle in my hands, and crashing into the refrigerator. I put a scratch on the refrigerator door and I remember my mother covering the scratch, using a small bottle of white paint. (It may have been white nail polish.) I was 20 months old. I was getting the stroller handle to put on the stroller so my mother could take us to the store. My brother rode in the stroller. He was eight months old.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Carole, great to hear from you and super to hear that you have a memory from when you were 20 months old. How marvellous is that! Your memory is very detailed for that age too. Does it feel strange to go back and remember that situation through a child’s eyes? Or did you feel like you were an older person, looking through the eyes of the younger version of you, but had a greater awareness as an adult?

      Like

Leave a Reply

