Weekend Edition – Too Old, Stealing Ideas + Great Reads and Writing Tips


Hi everyone

I got back in the early hours of this morning from London, having been to The Business Show at the ExCeL centre, for two days. I heard from some super authors that have had their books published by Wiley, who publishes the Dummies series.

I read this post and felt compelled to share it with you. This is a fantastic post about not being ashamed to read whatever books you like and creating originality out of stories that have been written before, using your own ” mash up“.

Look out for my interview with Author Ian Kane, coming soon to this blog. His new book is called “Rising Storm” and is part of his “Fading Empires” series. You are going to love his book, love his answers and love him.

Write soon
Sandra

Live to Write - Write to Live

You’re too old for that.

pin lengleI was in the children’s room of my beloved library earlier this week and was horrified to hear a mom tell her son to put a particular book back because he was “too old” for it. She said, “That’s too easy for you.” I actually winced.

I’m sure this mom was very well-meaning. I’m sure she just wanted to encourage her son to try something a little more challenging. But, you are never – NEVER – too old for any book. I’ve shared it before, but I’m going to share again the wonderful quote from the fabulous Madeleine L’Engle, “You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.”

I am, by chronological reckoning, a full-fledged adult, but I will never, ever stop reading so-called children’s books. Some…

View original post 1,294 more words

11 thoughts on “Weekend Edition – Too Old, Stealing Ideas + Great Reads and Writing Tips

    1. Hi Ralph, I have checked out YouTube for you. If you have a YouTube account, when you go into it click on YouTube settings and then this:-

      New uploads: Get emailed right when your favorite channels upload new videos. Edit settings to what you want it to be.

      Also, I have it on reliable authority, beside subscribed is a cog and to click, send me updates. I hope that works.

      Like

      1. I have suscribed to a photographer for a few months and all his new videos were notified to me by email. I still did what you said Sandra and checked the boxes which were unchecked before. So see what happens with your next video. 😀

        Like

      2. Ralph, I am sorry you are having problems. I hope that you get my new videos. I uploaded one about an hour ago, so I am not sure that you would have ticked theses boxes before I did the upload. I have posted it on my blog so you and others can see it. The Business Show, said in a Tweet, that they liked my behind the scenes videos.

        Like

      3. It’s no problem for when you post a video I watch it on Youtube and then can look at the ones I’ve missed in there. ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

