Good Citizenship Award


Hi everyone

On Thursday 27th of July, I attended a ceremony by the Devon and Cornwall Police. I was very pleased and honoured to have received a Good Citizenship Award.

On the 3rd of January I saw someone who looked like they were about to jump off a bridge. When I spoke to them they were sitting over the rock face of the bridge edging their way down. To cut what seemed a long time, short. By the time I had talked to her around to thinking maybe not going to do it, she was too far down the side of the bridge to get back up and I couldn’t lift her back up. There was no one else nearby. I hung on to her by one arm, with my phone in my other hand holding the phone to her ear, whilst a police lady spoke to her. With only her back gripping the rock, she wasn’t able to hold on any longer and she fell head first in the mud and water. I managed to get her head out of the water before the police and ambulance came.

She was told she wouldn’t be able to walk for 6 months but by April she could.

She has a wicked sense of humour and I am now friends with both her and the police officer.

I was keeping quiet about this but receiving my award is something to shout about. Not because of what I did but because of the life it represents. Also my photo is going to be in the local paper called the Express & Echo.

At the time I wished I could have stopped her from falling but I would have gone over too and then we would have both been in the water and who knows what else. I am just glad she is alive and happy she is my friend.

image

Write soon
Sandra

 

15 thoughts on “Good Citizenship Award

  1. You are what so many people would like to be – someone who can .. and has .. made a difference to someone’s life. You were there when she needed you. You were her angel.

    Well done Sandra. So very proud of you

    Like

  2. Sandra, What you did was brave and selfless. The latest suicide statistic I have is that someone in the world kills themselves every 18 minutes. Your actions are indeed worthy of shouting about.

    Like

    1. Thanks Valerie. Really happy that she lived. Wished I could have stopped her falling but I couldn’t. I am friends with her and she can walk again now and has just been discharged from the physiotherapist.

      Like

Leave a Reply

