B is for Brainstorm (A-Z of Writing)


 

Hi Everyone

Whether you are writing a lot about a variety of things or you haven’t picked up a pen in ages, sometimes it’s difficult for your brain to come up with what to write next. Some may refer to this as writer’s block. I prefer to think of it as creative block

The answer to this is to brainstorm. Pick any topic, place, phrase, thing, season, time and start brainstorming. That is, write everything that springs to mind relating to that one particular thing and that should give you ideas for plot, characters, setting and scenery.

For example, if I choose a hot summer’s day, I have already got the weather, the season, as well as the fact it’s daytime. I could also have any of the following:

  • Picnic
  • Stream
  • Grass
  • Children playing
  • Swimming
  • Sunbathing
  • Butterflies
  • Flowers
  • Bees
  • Magic
  • Seagull
  • Beach
  • Pebbles
  • Sand
  • Rocks
  • Sea
  • Surfing
  • Drowning
  • Man saved a boy
  • Long lost son but didn’t know it
  • Became friends with boy
  • Lifeguards sacked after ignoring warning signs
  • Newspaper
  • Media attention
  • Publicity
  • Journalist
  • Story
  • Money
  • Fame
  • Fortune
  • Tragedy
  • Boy dies in car crash
  • Organ donor

I could go on and on, you see how one idea can lead to another and indeed I went away from the initial thought and my story began to take shape. I didn’t pre-empt that, I just let it flow.

So when you are feeling a bit down, get pen and paper and just go with the flow, it’s amazing what you can come up with and if you are still not happy because you cannot see the bigger picture from your ideas that have been flowing, store them up to be used at a later date. A good place to store them, is in a notepad that you will refer to over again or on index cards, that way you can mix and match them.

Good luck with the writing and let me know how you get on.

Write soon

Sandra

 

11 thoughts on “B is for Brainstorm (A-Z of Writing)

  1. What I mean is, people is in a hurry now. I have difficulty making a brainstorming group, except in the university. 10 years ago, people in the East still had a brainstorming group, especially in the spiritual field, and certainly not forget the areas of work such as businesses and others.

    Even many people in the west, are interested in yoga (and other spiritual groups), which is not only the practice of meditation, but also do some brainstorming.

    Something easy, it is often confusing. Questions such as:
    Select this. Who is the most cool and smart in a band? Why?
    1. Guitarist
    2. Pianist
    3. Singer
    4. Drummer
    5. Violinist
    6. Keyboard player.

    Hi, are you in a hurry? 🙂

    Like

    1. I understand that group brainstorming can be advantageous because of the volume of ideas that can be brought to the table. However, the brainstorming that I was talking about in my blog post, was one that you can do on your own and you don’t need a group for. It is about taking a single thought and letting your brain freely think about it and write what comes into your mind from it.

      Like

  2. Hi Sandra,
    Thanks for the interesting post. I’m also a great fan of notebooks. I have one in the drawer called “an ideas book” because things sometimes come to me in the middle of some other activity, like having breakfast, for example, and it’s important to jot stuff down quickly and then you can relax again(!) Have a great week, Louise

    Like

    1. That’s great, “an ideas book” is a very good thing to have. I usually have pen and paper to hand wherever I am but I often find I get into bed to go to sleep and then Pow! An idea comes to mind out of the blue, often from a thought I have had about something else, then another idea and another. Sometimes this can go on for while and I just have to let it flow and scribble it down as fast as I am thinking it, which can be difficult.

      Like

Leave a Reply

