How redundancy changed my life


Hello everyone.

It has been a busy few weeks.  I have finally received my commercial printer and now quirkybooks.net is on it’s way to something BIG.

For those of you who don’t know what quirkybooks.net is all about, let me enlighten you.

I founded quirkybooks.net in July 2010.  It was a project I had been working on since being made redundant in February 2009 but a concept which had been in my head for some time.  It was only because I was made redundant that the idea began to become a reality and what was once a traumatic time turned out to be the little gem needed to push me forward to believe in myself and my future business.

Many people see redundancy as an obstacle, I saw it as an opportunity.  A chance to discover, what I was born to do.  What my special gift was and what I could do with it.

Sure lots of other people have hidden talents too and I would encourage them to do the same.

That is, think about what you love to do, be it writing, art, pottery, drama, comedy.  Even if other people think it is impossible, if you know in your heart of hearts you can do it, then do just that.  Make it happen.  Find out what you need to do it and then just do it.

I know it is not going to be easy or simple, but if you want something so badly, something you are willing to fight for, to wait for, then it will be worth it.

It will make you feel empowered, alive, confident and give you the most precious thing, self belief.  Once you feel the power of self belief, nothing in your life will ever be the same.   Your glass will always be half full, your life will be enriched, your enthusiasm will pass on to others and the world will be a better place for having you in it.

Go for it.

If I have lost you and you don’t have a clue what I am talking about.  Let me explain.

I have founded quirkybooks.net through a love and passion for writing.  When I was made redundant I felt my world was coming to an end and then I realised it was just the beginning.  A time to reflect on my previous jobs, at my life to date and to consider if I had been doing was what I was born to do.  What would make me happy?  Was I really happy in the job I had been made redundant from?

I had been in the job for almost 3 years and I felt I was good at it and I enjoyed it. But and there was a but, it was long hours, I used to get shouted at by staff who thought they were superior to me and liked to throw their weight around.  I was slaving away, whilst wishing I could do more with my life.  I loved writing then, but I never had time to do much.  I love writing now and now I do a job where I work to write.  In other words, I do a job with less hours, for reasonable pay but I am able to have some time for my writing, not as much time as I would like but hey, I guess the best things come to those who wait.

At the moment quirkybooks.net is in it’s infancy, still at the beginning of it’s story but with each day a new page turns which will lead to an exciting middle and a fantastic basis for a whole series of stories.

If you look at my website quirkybooks.net you will see it is all about me and my writing.  If you take a closer look , it will explain my current projects and how you can get involved.

But that is not the best thing.  The best is yet to come.

quirkybooks.net will be becoming a publishing company in it’s own right.  It will be a platform for myself to share my work with you.  There will be books, written by me, that you will be able to buy.  They will not be imported from abroad, they will not be printed abroad, they will individually printed by me.  This means you will be able to put your own individual message in them.  Be it for a birthday, a christmas gift or just to tell someone how much you care.

This is what quirkybooks.net will be able to offer you.  A personalised touch.  You will be able to read the difference.

quirkybooks.net will also be giving new or unknown illustrators a platform from which to allow their imagination to spring into print.

A lot of work has to be done before quirkybooks.net can get off the ground running.

There is still more equipment to buy and designs of illustrations to try.

But it is an exciting time and I wanted to share it with you.

quirkybooks.net will predominantly begin concentrating on the picture book market for children aged 3 to 5 years.

It will also look to incorporate other quirky products.

This is not to say I will not work with other publishers to publish my own work because I would welcome any opportunity to write.  I think the market is big enough for everyone to help each other.

So the next time you log into quirkybooks.net, read my latest news and get involved.

Happy writing.

Write soon.

Sandra

quirkybooks.net

6 thoughts on “How redundancy changed my life

Leave a Reply

