Printers. A minefield!


Hi everyone.

If someone would have told me there were so many printer options, I would have explored more years ago.  Instead I am using every ounce of after work energy, trawling through website after website to find my perfect match. It’s tiring, frustrating and at the same time, absolutely fascinating.  Almost hypnotic.

Learning about the latest tech, has certainly filled these dark evenings a treat, but I feel so exhausted just keeping up with it all.  At least I now know what I want but can I find my perfect printing partner?  As they say, nothing is perfect.  And that is what I am finding.

I want a colour Laser printer, with duplex, (double-sided, see I have learnt something!) Which can print on a high gsm (thickness of paper, or should I say, card, I am getting good at this.) Has a print speed of around 30 ppm ( pages per minute, I feel so techy.)  And a high DPI (dots per inch, resolution.  I feel so proud.)

There is an added complication, I have a Mac and not all printers are compatible with them. Oh! I forgot to mention, as I will be working from home, it will need to be a desktop, with a narrow width of 40cm. I want to self publish my picture books, with the best possible quality of print.

Can you see the mountain I have to climb? Everest seems minute now.  There are A3 printers out there, with just the specs I need but apart from being too expensive, I cannot fit one in the space I have. Typical! I can feel my head getting very sore against that brick wall.

Dell printers are out, it would seem none are compatible with Mac. Xerox is a favourite, but cartridges are so expensive. Epson, seem to break down a fair bit. It’s good there is an Epson repair centre near where I live but it makes you wonder why they need a whole shop as a dedicated repair centre.  May be not such a good omen.  HP seem good but not the high spec I had hoped for.

Then I had a brain wave, as I am going to use the printer for the primary purpose of publishing children’s picture books, the cover will be a large factor in the consumers decision to purchase, so I need to have complete ownership of how it will look, by printing it myself on a quality weight of paper. After consulting my paper sample file, I decided 250gsm would be a good thickness for my cover and that’s when I googled printers which printed on  250gsm and stumbled upon OKI.  They print up to 250gsm on some of their A4 colour laser printers and have a model close to the specs I want.  Only one problem.  I have to travel miles to see one of these beauties in action.  Oh well!  Needs must.

I will let you know how I get on.

Write soon.

Sandra

quirkybooks.net

Leave a Reply

